Introduction

Hello, I’m Pamela Muir, the group leader and head instructor of ACMA.  Having never outgrown playing with swords, I began my training in historical swordsmanship in 2003. As a self-professed western martial arts groupie, I am often found attending events where I have the opportunity to train under renowned instructors from around the globe. At home, I have studied with Tom Leoni at the Order of the Seven Hearts and Bill Grandy at the Virginia Academy of Fencing.

At heart, I am an academic and an educator.  I earned my B.S. Ed. at the University of Virginia and masters degrees in mathematics and computational sciences from George Mason University. Additionally, I hold a Virginia Department of Education postgraduate professional teaching license.  I have been employed as a math teacher in Arlington County Public Schools and a substitute teacher in Falls Church City Public Schools. When I am not teaching classes, my attention is focused on writing and research. Some of my work has included articles and reviews for myArmoury.com and the Order of the Seven Hearts.

My goal is to use my background in education for the instruction of historical European martial arts. Towards that goal I have taught classes covering a variety of weapon styles, most often those of the medieval German Liechtenauer tradition.

